Bill Buchman at Venice Art Center

January 2, 2012 was the day I took my first class with Bill Buchman, an accomplished artist, teacher, author and jazz musician. I was drawn to take his class because it was called "Creative Breakout" and came with the promise that I would learn about various mixed media materials and techniques. My blip journal entry from that very first class is here.

I love Bill's style and approach towards making art. He lectures and demos for most of the two and 1/2 hours and then gives us an assignment to do in class. At first I could not get used to having so little time to work as Bill demonstrated for longer than any instructor I previously had. Now I relish the time Bill uses to teach us about drawing and painting using different mixed media materials. The bottom line is: I know I will learn so much from Bill, I already have and I know he has more to teach me! His own art has greatly inspired me, partly because he works with such freedom. See a video I made -snippets from his classes. So vibrant and exciting! I am blessed that he has always welcomed me to photograph or video him during class (as long as I share the photos/video with him! )

I loved being back in his class today, even though it was a longer drive to this new location. I know I will be inspired and guided and taught things I have not learned yet like, "follow his instructions better" - This is what he said today when I asked for suggestions : ) It was a good comment for me to hear so I can get the most out of what he has to teach me and I am excited to be there.

All of my blips related to Bill Buchman's classes.

“Creativity takes courage.”

― Henri Matisse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.