Sea Air

A statue of a fisherman watches over vessels traveling in and out of a nearby inlet. This statue is located in a park contains a small boardwalk which provides a nice area to walk along the water. Names of fishermen who did not return from the sea are memorialized on plaques on the railing around the statue.

After only five days of being back to reality after my relaxing trip, I needed a fix of the sea. Today was a little warmer, which made the visit all the nicer. Just a few minutes of breathing in some fresh air and seeing the water slapping up against the sea wall and everything seems better. Well, that and I had a facial today, which certainly also helped.
I’ve also just come from a wellness and nutrition class that I’ve been going to for a few weeks now on Thursday evenings. It was good to hear new ideas and suggestions. Most of us don’t take enough time for self-care and it is so important to our overall health. Something as simple as sitting in a bathtub with a good book and it can change our entire mood and that in turn helps our physical self. I’m going to try and make the time to do more of that in my daily routine. Taking the time to stop at the water’s edge and breathe was a perfect example. When I saw the statue of the fisherman I wanted to get out and photograph it. I could have just driven past but that small amount time that it took to walk over and take the photo made all the difference in my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.