Holly Seed

I was blip less for most of the day. I admit it; I am in a bit of a funk since coming home from my vacation. I was staring at my birdfeeders; camera in hand and there was not a bird in sight. Birdfeeders are a great way to attract bird and normally I am constantly filling the seed in them. Today I noticed less activity and remembered from time to time that I do not need to fill the feeders as often. There seem to be some natural shrubs around my house that the birds actually seem to prefer.
I have about six different types of holly shrubs on my property and the berries are in full bloom. Today I noticed the birds checking out the berries. I did not know this before investigating but each single berry has ten seeds in it. No wonder the birds like them. More seed, less work.
I took this shot with my iPhone and was surprised at how good it came out. I gave it a little enhancement for the purpose of texture but the evergreen is truly beautiful all on its own. The sun was setting behind it so it had a kind of glow to it. I guess I was feeling artsy today.
It is hard coming home from a tropical island to windy, dark and cold days. I felt like there was nothing to worth photographing which is not like me at all. Even the grandchildren did not want to be photographed today.
Sometimes staring into space is not such a bad idea. Sitting and looking outside before the sun set for the day made me appreciate the beauty out there. It might not be the Caribbean but it is not all that bad.

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. – Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.