Big Day Out

I woke up feeling relieved that I was going to have the MRI done today. I got to shower with my new swiveling shower seat that I bought on Amazon from the comfort of my sofa. Thank heavens for that little seat because without it there would be no shower. I could never stand for that long. I had improvised before the new seat came and used a metal folding chair but it was a little cold to sit on.

I was really uncomfortable on the ride to the radiology place but I figured once I was laying flat for the MRI. They brought me into the room for the test and told me to lay on the table. No matter how I squirmed I was uncomfortable. I just got in the best possible position, they gave me earplugs for the noise of the machine and into the tube/tunnel I went. As I got further into machine, the sheet on the table got stuck on my shoes. As one part of the table moved, the sheet pulled my shoe/foot/leg into an awkward position.
So now my back hurts, my legs is uncomfortable and it starts to feel warm in the machine. My secret to getting thru an MRI is to close my eyes and keep them closed until they pull me out. Today between being too warm, the machine being extra loud (those earplugs did nothing) and my back and legs hurting I just lost it and I made the mistake of opening my eyes. My nose was practically touching the top of the tunnel! I started to call out. "Hello?" "Hello?" No answer. I'm starting to panic now. I called out again. Nothing. Then I remember in my hand was an emergency call button. I had totally forgotten. I pressed it and a technician came in and pulled the table out and told me not to move. He said it was ok to take a breath but that if I move we'd have to start all over. I took a few minutes and then said I was ready to go back in. I also had them take the sheet off my shoes.

I finally finished and met my husband in the waiting area where I asked him to take me to Starbucks Drive Thru for a reward. We did and then we took the long way home. I got this picture as we pulled onto the road that leads to my street. Home again.
Thank you so much for all your thoughts and well wishes. It has meant so much to me. MRI results by Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.