Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

An early start and a difficult ending

Rain had been forecast today so it was off to Newcastle beach at sunrise to get a blip. Not a really spectacular sunrise and I was a little late this morning. I was surprised as I saw three live Shearwaters this morning. I moved them out of harms way and hope they have survived. I am wondering now whether I should have called WIRES.

I had been asked by a friend at work yesterday to take some family portraits of her Aunts family this evening. It is a rather sad story which I won't go into but her uncle is quite a character. They all turned up at the designated spot about 30 minutes late. Not normally a problem but there were thunder storms on the way and we were outdoors. Her cousin apologised for being late and told me there had been a fight before they arrived and her father was a prick. Yes that is what she said. There were extended cousins from Tamworth, a dog and a young child. The dog did not want to be in the photos and kept going behind peoples legs and in the end had to be carried. Anyway I think I have enough shots that they should be happy. Now let me get back to the uncle. He does his own dental work. Apparently he sits on the lounge at home in front of the TV and uses a drill from Bunnings (hardware chain for non Aussies). I looked from a distance and his teeth did not look so good. He had to get work done on his wisdom teeth and needed to go to a real dentist and in the end confessed he had done the work himself. The dentist was so impressed he gave him mates rates. Well that is how the story goes. He had recently pulled apart a car engine in the middle of the lounge room. He is in trouble with my friend's Aunt now as he has to clean the carpet before Christmas. He turned up in thongs and shorts and a T-shirt. (Flip flops for non Aussies, the sight of him in the other sort of thong would have been mind blowing). I was told he doesn't own a pair of trousers.

I have as they say been a bad blipmate. Hopefully by Sunday I will have made some inroads into catching up but now it is late on Friday and I have been up since 5 am and it is time for bed. I hope you all have a good weekend and thanks for dropping by on my journal when I am doing the Greta Garbo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.