WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Woodpecker Take 2

I feel a touch of guilt about this.

I walked from Bolton Abbey today up the Valley of Desolation. I spotted a woodpecker that hung around for quite some time. Camera settings checked this time.

It's getting cold again. Yesterday evening, I decided to fill up the bird feeders in the garden. The goldfinches sit on it nearly all day.

Pleased with the woodpecker I'd photographed, I came home and checked on the feeders. As I looked out of the window, I was somewhat horrified at the feathers floating in the air.

I found the culprit.

I didn't see the catch but it plucked and ate the little chap within minutes, pausing only to stretch its neck to let a leg go down. I thought the shot with the foot sticking out of its mouth was a little too gruesome.

Goldfinches minus one.
Woodpecker relegated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.