Onwards and Upwards

I rode from Halls Farm to Deuchrie this afternoon and ended up at sunset by this lovely old sheep pen, sloping down the hill but perfectly circular. There's no snow in our hills yet, but it can't be long.

Here's the ride on Strava, recorded via mobile phone GPS.

... and so to the 365 times table (as Red said a while back!)...

After 3 years of taking photographs every day, choosing the one I like, dressing it up for public viewing and writing some words about my day, it's become quite routine. And very, very enjoyable.

Sat in dreary offices, I look over the ugly buildings to the sky beyond. "Look, it's going to be a lovely sunset," I say. The drones look at me like I'm mad and I take a walk. I return 30 minutes later and they coo at my results.

Waiting for the children to come out of school, I look down to the beach and the waves rolling off the North Sea. "Look, it's a huge spring tide," I say. "Ooh, looks cold," say the yummy mummies.

Coming off the night train from Edinburgh, with the Sunrise and Sunset app on my phone telling me it's 15 minutes to sunrise, I head up Calton Hill. There is nobody there. Maybe the occasional jogger. And the day starts, and I arrive at the office with the best of the day already behind me.

Travelling south on the afternoon train, I get off at Darlington to clean my window with a napkin and a bottle of water so I can get a clear shot of the sunset just before York. The staff smile politely.

Travelling up and down the Thames on the Clippers, I am constantly hanging out of the windows with my camera. After loads of attempts I get the lad throwing the rope just as it was in my head.

Cycling to the shops with my daughter, we get wet. Leaving the shop she shouts, "Look Daddy, a rainbow!" and we hurry across the dual carriageway to marvel at the sunset rainbow, rich red with no blues.

The children do wonderful and funny things and they patiently allow me to photograph them. Their lives are there for us to remember.

And cycling, cycling. Always with a camera. Looking around as I ride, will I stop here? Turning a corner - Oh! Look at that! Snap, snap, snap.

All of this and more is driven by anticipating, finding and appreciating the wonderful world around me.

Looking forward to looking back? Yes, and here's to many more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.