The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Unleashed

Day two of Marks and Spencer training. Well more thrown in at the deep end. To be fair there is no other way of learning stuff sometimes.

We had half an hour playing on a computer simulated till, but there is not customer standing there expecting you to get it right. So at about half eleven we were unleashed onto the general public. There are thirteen of us in all being induced as Christmas temps, so we were spread far and wide around the shop. I was lucky to get put in the food hall, as some who were due to work there were put on clothes.

I logged into the till and then, wham, it was off we went. Blimey it was intense. I think it was an hour and half before I had the first break in customers coming through. It was bloody terrifying at times, but slowly I got used to where things were. Yes, I made a couple of mistakes, but you really have time dwell on them as the next customer is in front of you as soon as the last one walks away. The two and a bit hours felt like five minutes. It was unbelievable.

The afternoon was a little less intense as were shown how the shelf restocking was done. It was quite funny, as at several points there were more of us staff than customers, as ten of us foodies were tidying and tweaking shelves, as well as the normal staff that were in.

So that's it ... next time I am in, it will all be for real! Still a little scary I must admit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.