The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Zappa Plays Zappa

Random concert night.

After last nights cracking night at Bellowhead, tonight was a complete change of sound from folk to jazz! My brother was supposed to be going to this gig, but he's poorly with novo virus and a sinus infection, so I took his ticket of him rather than it going to waste. This was once more way outside my musical comfort zone. Zappa is far more my brothers territory than mine. I like some Zappa, but I must admit a lot of it goes over my head.

I must say now my brother has been gutted he missed both these gigs. So I dedicate last night and tonight's blips to him .... get well soon bro!

This was most definitely a muso gig. You know where you give polite applause to solo's etc. mid song. There was lots of sections that wowed me, but there was whole bits that were just free-form jazz that sounded like the four musicians were playing four different songs simultaneously!

The two highlights of the gig were the saxophone solo and the improv solo/ dual between Dweezil Zappa (Frank Zappa's son) and a clarinet player (who's name I can't recall).

Fair play to Dweezil Zappa he played a two and a half hour gig without a break and was outside in the foyer of St. David's Hall in Cardiff signing autographs in the time it took me to get from my seat out there!

So yes I en joyed it, but its still not really my cup of tea, but I am glad I went, and thank you bro for giving me your ticket!

PS .. If you think Dweezil Zappa is a silly name, feel more sorry for his sister Moon Unit Zappa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.