Peek-a-boo

Today was a crazy day. A check up for my granddaughter at the pediatrician left me in a total sweat and feeling like I needed a drink.
Nadia told me on the way to the doctors that she did not want to go so I should have known right there it was going to bad. We walked into the waiting room where I tried to snap a photo of her when she pulled down her Minnie Mouse hat to avoid my photo.
I asked her if she wanted me to take her coat off and she told me “No!” I think she was planning her escape. When they called our name to go in to the exam room, she started with a little whine. Then as we entered the room, she got a little louder and started saying she was not going to sit on the exam table. The one nurse was really trying hard to cheer her up and she kept saying, “Okay, okay” as if she was trying to convince herself everything really would be okay.

By the time the doctor came in the room she was in full panic mode and the sweat was starting to bead up on my face. There was no way this was going to go smooth and I knew it. Thankfully, it wasn’t a long visit. When the nurse came in with a lollipop at the end of the exam all was right with the world once again.
I don’t remember my children being so upset going to the doctors but there is a good chance I just blocked it out. Nadia passed out in the car on the way home and I sat in the driveway with her sleeping in the sunshine until she woke up an hour later. She deserved the nap and I didn’t mind having that hour to myself either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.