Birthday Cake

Today is my husband’s birthday and I baked a cake. I know to most people this does not sound like a big deal, but for me, it was a very big deal! I do not mind cooking but baking was never my thing.
I was on the phone with my sister saying that I had to run out to the store and get a birthday cake and she suggested that I just make one. It was an icy, rainy kind of day outside and the thought of not having to go out was tempting but the thought of making a cake from scratch felt overwhelming.
I told my sister that if had all the ingredients and she talked me through it maybe I could do it. It turned out I did have all the ingredients and so the lesson began. First things first, she told me to preheat the oven. Done. Next, get two round cake pans, grease, and flour them. I had one round pan and one square pan. I figured I can make it work it will just be a little artsy. My sister was in disbelief that I did not have two round pans but I am telling you I do not bake so the fact that I had ANY pans was a miracle.
I got the batter all mixed, divided it into the two odd pans and popped it in the oven. Wow, my house smelled so good! While they were cooking, I prepared the icing.
What a disaster. Confectioners’ sugar everywhere! It was a Lucille Ball moment. I didn’t soften the butter enough and my mixer was jumping all over the bowl and practically out of my hands. When trying to get the right consistency I obviously put too much milk and my icing was somewhat thin. More like what you would see on a Cinnabon. When my husband got home and got over the shock of me baking his cake he tasted the icing that was in the bowl. He said to me, “Is there liquor in it?” Oh no, I guess I put too much vanilla too! I told him it was the vanilla and he nicely told me it was very good. When all was said and done, it did not look too bad and it actually tasted quite good. Okay it looked weird but my efforts where greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.