The Valley

I do like waking up in Wales!
Every window looks out over mountains and waterfalls and sheep and slate.
So beautiful.
It's a good job I like waking up here as Miss L decided to start her day at about 5am......
I wasn't particularly gracious and there may have been a bit of shouting about it being the middle of the bloody night after the third attempt to get her to lie down and shut up failed.
I flounced downstairs with her, wrapped myself in a blanket and put Tinkerbell on for her and sat there muttering darkly!
I cheered up a bit once it got light, I'd had a cup of tea and Mr K got a roaring fire going.
We went down to Uncle D's house to say hello and see if the Mountain Elves had been to visit.
The Mountain Elves leave treasure (chocolate coins) hidden all over the garden for the Little Misses to find. The hiding places are marked with golden ribbon and they love hunting for them. And obviously eating them!
Then we went for a walk up the quarry which was brilliant as usual. The Little Misses walked miles, had loads of fun scrambling up all the slate, Miss E drew arrows on bits of slate all the way up so we'd know the way back down! And we decorated our tree again - a new family tradition.
Every now and then I'd get the Little Misses to stop, stand still and just listen. The quiet up there is unbelievable. Complete and utter peace interrupted every now and then by a bit of birdsong. Wonderful!
Back home for a late lunch and a lazy afternoon watching Harry Potter. I worried that the Little Misses might find it a bit scary but they enjoyed it. Even if Miss E did spend the last half hour watching from behind Mr K's back!
While they were watching it I "popped" to the shop to get some milk and chicken for dinner.
Popping to the shops from my brother's house involves a twenty-two mile round trip.
But in such beautiful surroundings it doesn't matter!
An evening in front of the fire with chicken and baked potato and Strictly. Pretty good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.