Sunset with a crescent moon

On a balmy summer evening like tonight, you've just got to check out the sunset. Unfortunately I got my timing a little wrong and by the time Mrs H and myself set off towards Lake Ellesmere/Te Waihora, the sun had pretty much dipped below the horizon.

As we approached the end of the valley, it seemed the better option was to park up and capture this scene instead. The warm glow perfectly suited the temperature of the still air. Bliss.

Whilst we were waiting we also had chance to meet a newcomer to the area who has just moved in to one of the farm cottages at the bottom of the valley. When you speak to someone like D, it's easy to realise why foreigners think that kiwis are some of the friendliest of people they come across. Within a few minutes, he was offering to help lend a hand with some fencing at our place - if there were cold beers involved, of course. Salt of the earth I think is the term. Jen, his extremely soppy tan and white pig dog (sort of a cross between a collie and a bull terrier I reckon) was keen to lean up against me and get some fuss whilst we chatted away in the fading light.

Not a bad way to see out the end of the day I reckon. Well, except for having some of those cold beers perhaps....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.