I SAW THE FELLED TREE

on my way to the pond. Poor tree, the storm too heavy for you. She lay over the footpath, head almost in the water of the pond.
I had waited for my visit there till I had some hope that there could come, at least for some quarter of an hour, a break in the raining. It came but after a downpour, which almost broke my umbrella, that I needed dearly for making a picture.
But to my big surprise the sky turned a lovely blue, the sun shone above the block of apartments, I fed the swans and all the other waterbirds, the gulls could take care for themselves. They dived very skilled between the swans, coots and ducks.
The grebe, mother or child I did not see. And they are not at all interested in bread.
When I walked home the sound of the machines, sawing the branches of the felt tree, I heard loudly.
No reason to leave the apartment again weatherwise.
On TV the news of the death of Nelson Mandela gave occasion of showing several poignant documentaries and I did watch some of these.
The boycot of Outspan oranges did probably arise for the first time my awareness of the situation of Apartheid in South Africa.

My haiku:

The felled tree lay quiet
The birds had left the branches
The roots in the open

And the proverb:

Het is een dwaas, die wel anderer gebreken kent, maar zijne/hare eigene vergeet.

Translation: It is a fool, who knows the defects of others, but forget his/her own.

Edit: ceridwen asked in her comment what a felt tree meant. So I looked it up in the dictionary and found out it has to be: felled tree. I changed my title after that.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.