WHERE THE ACTION IS

The weather forecast promised rain later in the morning, and that made me walk to the pond before it would start. The swan father with his four children took shelter under the weeping willow, but they all came to eat their oat flakes.
I followed my way along the little canal and further towards the King Oliver island, met halfway the enormous flock of geese all swimming between the leaves that had fallen in the water.
It had been a long time since I had wandered so far, because of the storm and I was surprised to see another swan family, mother, father and five children.
They got my last oats. Then Hetty joined me and briefed me about what had happened and threatened this family. The menacing big swan, still accompanied by the mother of 'my' family', came several times on a day in a threatening way towards the family and they were frightened and stressed of course.
And even yesterday if not a neighbour living there had prohibited the killing of a young one, there would have been a victim.
Hetty had her little son Richard with her and some big sticks to prevent the agressor to come near.
I followed the action there for quite a long time, a coming and going (feathers high up) at either side took place, but not a real confrontation.
The rain did not fall but for one minute.

My haiku:

I too threw a stick
But the big swan ignored it
Flip flap he flew away

And the proverb:

Welkom hier! wanneer ga je weêr heen?

Translation: Welcome! When are you leaving?

An elder variation of the joke made by Groucho Marx all the time: "Hello, I must be going"



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.