The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Retro quire

Back blip posted on 7 December 2013

This is a detail of the 2004 stained glass window in the 'retro quire' of Beverley Minster that celebrates pilgrimage. This is just short of 600 years newer than the great mediaeval east window of this vast Gothic church (which is bigger than many English cathedrals).

I went to explore the Minster while Wifie and Pat explored the House of Mammon, I'm told there are some very good shops in the town. But shops are not for me. My visit to the Minster was illuminated not just by the windows, but by one of the Welcomers who took me to see some of the finer details of the stone carvings that I would otherwise not have found in a one hour visit. The Minster is grand in scale, yet intricate in detail.

We were visiting our old friend Pat who is now settled in the town after a series of moves that started from Brigsteer a few miles from us, and took in Lochranza on Arran (and the selfish part of me wishes she had not moved from there). But the Minster will be a place to return to, and Beverley is well placed near Wifie's home village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.