Ikea Fairy Magic

Today was Mr K's first day at home after finishing his job on Friday.
Well he's been at home for months but working apparently!
We were very organised and made lots of plans for the morning.
Only the morning - we were supposed to be home by 11am to crack on with wrapping, decorating and tidying.
We got home at about 2pm!!
But had a very lovely time.
First of all, after dropping the Little Misses off, we went to Ikea to pick up Miss L's kitchen.
It was closed.
Who knew Ikea ever closed?!!
There were hordes of people queuing outside the door at 9.30am who we laughed at, thinking how mad they were to be stood outside for half an hour!
So we popped over to B&Q (because I really don't feel I spend enough time there!) for a new lightbulb for our kitchen. Stupid, strip light thing! The kitchen has been in darkness for weeks apart from the hob light and I couldn't cope any more.
Then it was back to Ikea to discover that the restaurant opens at 9.30am which is what everybody apart from us knew!
A huge breakfast for £1.50. Yummy! And I was good having eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms rather then sausages and hash browns.
Our quick collection of the kitchen turned into a complete browse of practically every item in the shop.
Amongst other things we bought a cheese grater, tea lights (obviously!), a new pillow for me and some bowls for olives, dips etc.
I had been looking for a speed peeler so I could be like Jamie Oliver putting strips of cucumber into everything but I couldn't find one despite looking very thoroughly.
As we went down the escalator into the candle department I saw a speed peeler and an ordinary peeler in the trolley. I said to Mr K "Ooooh, you found a speed peeler, well done!!"
"I didn't put that in there"
He really didn't.
It was the Ikea fairies at work!!
And they'd put two in to make sure I got exactly what I wanted!
Then it was to Poundland for more paper chains but they were sold out, as they are in Bicester. We've put last year's back up but they're looking a little straggly!
Then I'd had enough and it was home for a nice cup of tea and what was left of the afternoon wrapping up presents on Santa's behalf.
Oh my goodness Santa has got a bit carried away where Miss E is concerned. We may have to store some away until next year for him.....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.