Funeral for a Friend

Georgie is a relation by marriage and I'd met her on a few occasions but it was when I was ill that she became a very good friend to me.

In 2006 I was struck down with Guillain-Barré syndrome, an unusual illness that causes a rising paralysis and can lead to all sorts of things if not treated effectively. I was treated very quickly and effectively but it needed a stay in hospital of a five weeks before I was discharged and able to start the long process of building up my strength and learning to walk again. I'm sure you'll be aware that days in hospital can be very long and boring especially when you can't do a lot for yourself.

After retiring from her work as a intensive care nurse, Georgie became a hospital visitor and once she heard that in was in hospital she popped in to see me. Perhaps because of her experience of hospitals, she knew about the little things that people don't get on the wards. The first time she came she chatted a little and then went away and came back with a cold drink. How nice and refreshing that was! Hospitals are always overheated and you soon acclimatised to that and don't realise until you get that cool drink. Over the weeks, she popped in every so often and always brought a little treat but more importantly a sense of peace and I'll never forget the kindness she showed.

Over the years since then her own health has deteriorated and Parkinson's Disease has put an increasing strain on her body. Whenever I've seen her she has always wanted to hear about me and how I'm doing, not to talk about her own difficulties.

My blip is the sky from this morning, another misty start to the day but not so dramatic as a couple of days ago. The order of service is superimposed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.