Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Post-box

My wish from yesterday was not granted and when I left the Angel and Harp in Great Dunmow, after an excellent meal with excellent company, the weather had turned from almost clear when I arrived to freezing fog! I set off the way I normally go only to find two miles down the road that they had closed the road for maintenance, so I turned round and set about finding the A120 to take me to Bishop’s Stortford and then home along the B1383. I have only been this way once before, in the daylight and got lost then. After going around a roundabout three times I found myself in the Tesco Superstore car park. Eventually I found the A120 and having crawled along in the fog I arrived home almost an hour after I left the pub; it should take less than thirty minutes.

Today it was still foggy when I drove my car to Hunt’s Garage for its annual service and MOT; 1400 hours they said. That was before they found a fault with the brake shoes and cylinders. Then they said 1700 hours, but if it was going to be earlier they would ring me. I rang them at 1515 hours to check how things were going and they said tomorrow and they would deliver her. So off we went to the railway station to catch a train. As we walked onto the platform, the train we wanted was still there, but they sealed the doors as we approached; another thirty minute wait.

Tonight I am not going anywhere although I have some ‘live’ OU training via the computer. Yesterday I set it up with microphone and headphones and it worked perfectly. After the last two days I am not holding out much hope for a successful training session.

I took this picture of a post-box outside the main Post Office in Bishop’s Stortford where today I posted all my overseas Christmas letters and parcels. It was not leaning at an angle, that was me not getting it straight, one of my many failings; I do not plan to straighten it, after the last two days it might end up much worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.