From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

It's my turn!

Sorry! This is getting a bad habit for me and I am on the slippery slope, posting blips a day late again. I'll be missing buses and breaking my own rules about being on time again! I confess I was watching rubbish on the telly again last night followed by a session of sitting up late with my best friends Jack and Victor - watching Still Game if anyone is confused.

Right! Where was I? Oh yes. Saturday. I took this picture before leaving Brum.

It was the usual trip to Stratford upon Avon to meet Frank for a pint of Abbot or three. It was heaving in the Garrick Inn and there was no point staying there long. I did think it was very funny while I was in there, when a very nicely spoken Irish gentleman - he had a Graham Norton posh grammar school accent - started having a right moan at Lynette (the manageress) about having nowhere to sit down to enjoy his drink, having been evicted from the dining area. There were people queueing up to be seated for meals and he had just sauntered in with his friend demanding seats. He accused Lynette of stealing his money! I must remember to try that one next time I go into a pub and the waves of people don't magically part and direct me to a seat!

Anyway, The Windmill was much emptier and we were able to sit down at a table. I'd bought a huge bag of mealworms on the way up the road from Robert Dyas. It has a ziploc fastening which I was well pleased with. With the plastic tubs I usually get, the lids warp and it's very easy to spill them all over the place as I did a while ago. I have only just stopped finding them around the house. Frank wasn't as excited about my huge bag of mealworms as I was. Neither were the people having dinners at the next table. I can't understand why! I would have quite happily offered them some!

We had a great chat as usual and confirmed arrangements for Friday when I will be meeting Frank and his friend John for a Two Towers brewery tour! It's been ages since I've been on an English one of those, the last time being to the Bass Brewery at Burton where I went with Towerblock Bertie. He is no longer with us and is fixing cars in that great garage in the sky. No, I didn't kill him, before you ask....

Frank and I had a good chat as usual putting the world to rights before it was time for me to head back to Brum to watch X Factor etc.

Track? I have done this before but I love this one from The Byrds - Turn Turn Turn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.