Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

LOVING AND GIVING

I decided a couple of weeks ago that I would use up some of the wool left over from knitting the Nativity, so set to work on my next project but I can't say exactly what or it will spoil someone's Christmas surprise present!!

37,296 stitches later, the project is completed - and that number doesn't include the number of stitches used to sew them together!

So the breakdown of my time is as follows:

19 hours to make the presents =
1140 minutes =
68,400 seconds

But who counts when doing something special for a friend?

I did watch some TV and also listened to some carols whilst knitting - so the time wasn't completely wasted. I also found that when I was doing the double rib that I prayed for certain friends by name twice for each stitch, so I kept the stitches correct.

But is time wasted when doing something special for a friend?

I not only gave my money when first buying the wool but I also gave my time.

But what is counted when doing something special for a friend?

The love that is put into something far outweighs any money or time spent and I hope that those who receive the gifts will know and feel that.

Christmas is a time for giving, but what is far more important is that it is about loving.

I always used to tell my sons that they would never lose out by doing something for someone else - in all my life, I never have, and this quote is so true:

“Give freely to the world these gifts of love and compassion.
Do not concern yourself with how much you receive in return,
just know in your heart it will be returned.”
Steve Maraboli
Life, the Truth, and Being Free


Enjoy the Czech Rocking Carol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.