CHRISTMAS EVE

Woken early again by the postman but I didn't go back to bed. I had to go to the Coop today but before I went out I logged into blip. Read the sad news that the mother of a blip friend in New Zealand had died today. It was not unexpected but still upsetting. I know myself that when you lose your Mam it leaves a gap in your life which nothing can fill.

The weather has been bad again today - rainy with gale force winds. I was heading into the wind on the way to the Co-op so it was a bit of a battle. Just watched the news and it seems the weather all over the UK is causing problems. I'm lucky that flooding, loss of power etc has not affected me. The Co-op was busy but not as bad as I thought it would be. I got a few bargains - reduced priced food which is out of date tomorrow. On the way back from the Coop it started to snow but it was wet soggy snow which didn't lie.

My daughter phoned me this afternoon. She is off work now till after New Year. We had a nice long chat. She is going to Skype tomorrow.

Had a Facebook message from Neil. He has safely arrived in Melbourne. Planning a BBQ on the beach for Christmas Day. He is also going to Skype - not sure when as obviously his Christmas Day starts before mine - it could be late tonight when he gets in touch.

I also had a Facebook message from one of the ladies who I see at slimming club - she invited me to her house for Christmas. Yesterday everyone at group was saying what they were doing for Christmas and I said that I would be on my own - not in a " feel sorry for me being home alone " sort of way but just stating the facts. I really don't mind being by myself but folk don't seem to believe me. My brother invited me to his house but I said I was fine here at home. My Christmas will start next Monday when my daughter and son in law arrive. However I was touched that this lady had thought to include me in her family celebrations. Aren't there some nice people about.

Today's Forum Challenge is Christmas Eve. Thought I would blip this Christmas card which I put up every year. My late husband Douglas gave it to me in 1995 ( I have written the date on the back ). I have kept a few of the cards he gave me but this one is my favourite. You can tell why he bought it.

Hope everyone is having a lovely time on Christmas Eve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.