Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Child's Gift

Every ornament on my tree is a gift from a child; a student from one of my former classes. I couldn't save every gift I received over the twenty-five years in the classroom (gifts at Christmas and the end of the year are perks of the job), nor did I want to do so.

From coffee mugs to chocolate fudge (which, of course one doesn't save for long!), every gift was greatly appreciated. It was always the thought that counted.

When I retired in 2003, I went through everything and saved my favorite things. I have ornaments like this little bell ringer and a hand-made one with a mouse sleeping in a half of a walnut shell. I have table decorations, too.

My favorite is a sled that a boy named Timmy made for me in Boy Scouts back in 2001. Timmy was a cutie; tossed light brown hair, big eyes and freckles. Straight A's. I'm sure he went on and became an Eagle Scout and is likely doing his physician's residency right now!

My tree is special to me in a lot of ways. It makes me think of all of the joyous moments I had with children. It reminds me that it is always more fun to give than to receive - because watching the hope in their eyes that you will love their gift is the most precious thing in the world. (Even if it's a recycled candle.)

And the most loving thing you can do for a child is to tell them you will cherish their gift forever. And then watch them smile.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.