Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Meet Misty

Collected Misty this morning :) so starting the New Year with a new dog some 3 months after losing Bonnie. Some background on her... she was a farm dog who wouldn't work, frightened of the sheep! She's not quite two years of age. She is indeed very timid and will definitely be a challenge. She's never lived in a house before as farm dogs don't, they usually live in stables/outbuildings. She has been on a quad bike before but never in a car and the back of my car is quite secure usually, that is until today when Misty somehow managed to get through the dog guard! So had an interesting drive home. Took her out in the car again later on as needed to go to the post office so my neighbour sat on the back seat with her which really helped to keep her calm. We then took her for a walk afterwards and on the way back to the car we met a lady with some friendly labradors but Misty was petrified of them as they came running up to us to say hello and if she hadn't been on the lead she would probably have bolted. Back home, my neighbour went and got her dog to say hello to Misty as she's very gentle and Misty was fine with her.

She's very food orientated which could be useful and has eaten her dinner and is now asleep on the floor next to me. She met Sasha the cat earlier and yes she was frightened of her and thank goodness Sasha didn't hiss or growl at her, so think they will be fine with each other. I really don't know what to do with her tonight. Somebody has loaned me a very large crate which I was planning on using just for night time, but not so sure now :( Then of course there's toilet training.... but she hasn't done a wee or anything since I collected her this morning despite letting her out in garden lots and the walk. She left behind her 11 year old mother and another dog and I do feel for her so she's been getting lots of cuddles. I'm sure they will be missing her too. If you look closely at her eyes you can see me and my neighbour :)

Still having laptop problems so looking like I need a new one but not looking forward to using windows 8 :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.