And the Clouds Roll in

New Year’s Day 2014 and I was up with the larks and trekking up onto the Wither Hills to welcome in the new year. It was strange weather. Clear skies in the east but to the west it was a different story. Big rain clouds were rolling in for the upper Wairau Valley and Richmond Range. There was rain forecast and it looked like it was on its way. I was the solitary person on the hills for the first hour or so. I trudged to the Water-tanks, a popular viewpoint, capturing some images on the way. Big fat raindrops started to fall just as I captured today’ image. I was glad that my camera bag is an “all weather” one. Today was the first time I have ever had to use the built-in rain cover on the bag. So it was onwards down the hill by a different route. I walked down the Quail Stream track where there is some shelter from the trees. With no raincoat for myself I was in a hurry to get back to the car. One or two hardy walkers passed me…. None with raincoats. At least it was not cold. I made it back to the car just as the heavens opened. Rain, heavy glorious rain on and off most of the day quenching the thirst of the dry hills and our gardens. Thunder and lightning as well. It was quite a day.
I feel quite over-whelmed by the lovely comments I received about my “Yeehah 365” image of yesterday. And it hit the Spotlight! Wow! A first for me……so humbling. Thank you all for your comments and encouragement. I do appreciate your kindness.
Happy New Year to all my Blipfoto Friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.