Cool and soothing green

I'm in the sub-tropics and it feels like it. Hot and humid is on the menu and not much else.

I could have done with an afternoon on the beach but I had too much else to do. All files associated with Mum's funeral are sorted, tidied and backed up. Dad now has a complete set on his computer too. I also sorted out a lot of neglected photo files that have been accumulating on my laptop, had a general tidy up and then did a long overdue back up.

I've also started the mammoth task of preparing to leave for home on Monday. Perhaps that's why today has been one of the toughest for me so far. In the end I decided there is no rhyme or reason, grief will be what it is and I'm best to go with it.

I headed over to the lake for a bit of head space early evening. Mum loved to walk over there, or to be wheeled over there in the latter stages of her cancer. There are always ducks to see, sometimes shags diving for an easy feed of large gold fish and lush sub-tropical vegetation with in-your-face vibrancy.

It's the cool greens I've been drawn to. Not only cool but soothing too.

The local Thai restaurant sorted dinner tonight. I like that, no preparation or cleaning up. Laughs and enjoyment are always welcome. I used one of Mum's hand bags that is now mine and that felt good.

She would have approved :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.