Don't try this at home

Last night was definitely cooler. A combination of a different air mass and an older hut with minimal insulation and single glazed windows. In my light sleeping bag it was bordering on cold with nearly all my clothes on.

Another clear day and JT and I made the most of it. The Mount Somers area truly is magnificent. It's such a different and diverse landscape. We passed beneath towering basalt pillars hundreds of metres high that formed as lava cooled. We passed faulted gorges and eerie rock outcrops. Then there is the tussock lands close and spreading to the permanent snow of the Arrowsmith range and Southern Alps beyond.

Being another easy day and with time on our hands JT and I took a scrambling wander into the upper Woolshed Creek catchment. I have the usual racing stripe scratches on my legs to prove it.

Magnificent country with just enough large outcrops of rock to make mothers around the world shudder ;-)

Yes, that's me large (if you dare)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.