A Little Jar of Sand

Last day of the holidays today.
So naturally we were doing Miss E's homework at 7pm and hunting round for ballet kits and PE kits. And schoolbags.
Pretty rubbish!
But an improvement on last year as I'd be doing all those things at 8am tomorrow, getting more and more hysterical as we get later and later!!
We had a great morning at Mrs W's. The girls were so pleased to see each other. Miss E and Miss T disappeared off upstairs and Miss L and the younger Miss T headed straight out into the garden.
Mrs W and I had tea and biscuits and chatted for hours. Fab!
After a scrummy lunch it was home to join Mr K in taking the decorations down.
And cook my first meal under our new regime (last night was baguettes, pate, olives, chips and dips. Just for a change!)
I did Jamie Oliver's Pregnant Jools pasta and it was yummy. Miss L devoured it, Miss E did her best but didn't really like it - clearly I was trying to poison her with the tomatoes she detests.
In other housewifely news - I had blanched and frozen six separate portions of stir fry vegetables by 8am this morning.
I'm practically Martha Stewart!!!
Oh the sand is from the Australian outback. I filled a jar with it when I was camping near Uluru (as I didn't call Ayres Rock then!) in my backpacking days. And then carted it around for the best part of a year!
There was more than this but the jar met with an unfortunate accident one day when my dad swept all my belongings off the windowsill as part of his efforts to mend a broken window.....
Miss E is taking it to school tomorrow, along with the book about Australia she made today.
Can you guess what this term's topic is?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.