Church at Donabate

What amazing weather! Things are certainly weird and wonderful when it's too warm in the middle of October to wear a jacket, which is how it was this afternoon when I finally managed to clear my work plate and point the car towards Donabate and Portrane, not far up the coast north of Dublin. It was Rita who mentioned when I was out in Ashbourne last week that a good option for a decent walk would be to drive to Newbridge Demesne and walk from there to Donabate. Today seemed the ideal opportunity to act on that recommendation, and I'm sure glad I did.

The parkland around Newbridge House is magnificent, and looked its glorious best in today's amazing sunshine. The walk wasn't at all strenuous, and at the end of it I found myself at this quaint church and graveyard on the outskirts of Donabate. I never thought to try the actual church door , which I now regret, but I'll see about that some other time. I spent a while wandering around the churchyard and then walked back to where the car was parked. Despite the bit of a walk, I actually felt a bit guilty getting back into the car and driving again, along the road to Donabate this time, on to Portane and then back home.

A fantastic few hours in the open air and the warm sunshine. Thanks be for global warming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.