Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Urbane Urban Trolley

Flying tomorrow. My kids have been well excited, counting down the sleeps just like Christmas. Yesterday (I forgot to mention this) missy-moo pleased me greatly, when she said "two more sleeps! Tomorrow it will be one more sleep! And on the overmorrow we go!" I think the overmorrow is one of the coolest archaic words around, and I'm rather chuffed that she clearly heard when I mentioned that I had come across it; she remembered it and used it perfectly. 8)

I was browsing through photos on Flickr today, and saw a lovely photograph. My finger was heading towards the star, when my eye caught sight of the watermark occupying the lower right. Finger changed course, and went for the 'back' button. I really do loathe watermarks; I totally agree with Trey Ratcliffe in this instance.

Today's photo is another set-and-forget. I'm happy with the focus (as close as the nearest woman's feet is in focus, and as far away as the sign for the Paragon) and sharpness, but it was over-exposed. I estimated focus, snapped at nothing, chimped briefly, decided to go one click faster with the shutter speed, and that was it. Had I taken one more test shot I probably would have ended up with a better exposure for this Lesser Urban Shopping Trolley - leaning against a post, chillaxing, perhaps recovering from a long night, watching the walkers go by.

Large if you like

I discovered a grayscale tool in Photogene; using that instead of simply de-saturating, means I can play around with colour channels much more effectively on the monochrome image. This is with a smidge of green and a few dashes of blue. I rather like it. Here's a re-do of yesterday's with similar processing.

And it's another One Street photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.