Journey Through Time

By Sue

Red-Winged Blackbird

I made a good decision today to visit the Wildlife Botanical Garden. We had a bit of a break in the weather with hazy sunshine and I took advantage of it early this afternoon. The light was good and the birds were active at the feeders there so I was a happy camper. I took my new tripod and it really makes a difference in my photos to use it. I set up and the birds were cooperative and the sun felt good and the temperature was about 52F so it was quite comfortable outside. I chose this female Red-Winged Blackbird because it's not one that comes to our feeders, but I have seen them up at this garden in the winter. I was happy she decided to come and eat and then pose for me in the tree. I selected a few more shots and they are on my Flickr page. There is also a shot of the cows over at the dairy across the street from the garden.

A nice storm is heading our way, which will blow in during the night. I'll probably sleep through the whole thing.

Oh, and we have had plumbing issues because of a broken water pipe due to our cold snap we had awhile back....Bill turned on the outside faucet and discovered that a few days ago. He gave it his best shot...but had to throw in the towel and call the plumber in today. He replaced the plastic pipe with something that is better, which has been used in UK/Europe for awhile and finally is available here. I guess the pipe holds up to freezing better as it expands and contracts. So, all is well but our wallet is a lot lighter. :( What are ya gonna do?

I back blipped yesterday's image of construction that I see when I travel to my aunt's place. I had to help her yesterday as she had a tooth pulled and then a quick stop at her doctor's to get her B-12 shot, then stopped by Olive Garden to get some soup for her for later, and then the grocery, the bank, the post office. And with all the new things being installed at the apartments where she lives, there has been a lot going on in her life lately. She was really tired. Today she sounds a lot better, which I am happy about.

Anyway....see ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.