Journey Through Time

By Sue

Cuban Black Bean Soup

Well, I don't think this will make Gourmet Magazine for this image, but that's okay. I saw this recipe on TV and then looked it up. There are many versions of this soup. I was intrigued and I made it today. The recipe I made calls for brown rice in the soup and many versions use bananas or plantains as the garnish. If I ever made this again, I'd get the plantains and fry them up, I think. I kept the fire down as Bill isn't that big of a fan of hot and spicy, but it could have been kicked up a notch or two and it might have been better...although I thought this was tasty. The Corona beer was a nice compliment. I forgot the lime in the beer! Next time.

A bit of a stormy day....off and on. It would get just so dark and rain like mad, then poof, the sun would come out. It settled into a bit of a drizzle now, I think. Gusty winds caused some problems here and there, but we never seem to have an issue with losing our power. In the 16 years we've lived here, our electricity went out once, and that was because of an accident which took down a pole somewhere.

Anyway.....See ya. Hope all is well.

PS Last year's picture is one of my favorites. The sweet and busy bushtits amaze me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.