hpx

By hpx

Gritty graphic

Funny what you spot on the side of a trademan toolbox. It's grey and drizzly outside and I thought I'd look for texture to blip.

An early blip from me today. My kitchen, laundry and entrance way is still a 'smack free zone' ;-) with the floor layer doing his laying thing. The floor looks great. It will look even better when it's finished and wiped.

When I chose my flooring I was told it was out of stock and not due in NZ until mid October. Amazingly it arrived early. I half expected something like "We're sorry but your flooring is gracing the floor of a Somali pirate's dwelling".

I've had the usual timing issues today (hours of them actually). Frustrating in that I need to do some errands, but the important thing is the floor is being laid, he's a likeable chap, is skilled and sweeps up as he goes. Sometimes I can choose to see past the gripes ;-) The fruit and vege shop, and supermarket will still be there later.

The 'fly in the ointment' might be the carpet. I phoned the carpet people with my happy news that the last tradesman is nearly done and can we make a day and time for the carpet to be cleaned. They're not sure it can be cleaned (I didn't know this). On Monday they'll send someone to give it a stain treatment and we'll see what it's like mid-week. If the carpet looks better they'll clean it, otherwise it's new carpet.

But I have a new floor and it's Friday. I'll focus on that :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.