One click at a time

By KeithKnight

January Challenge - Quiet

Day 18 of DDW's January daily challenge - Quiet

The eagle eyed among you may have noticed an addition to my fleet of cameras this week. My Nikon P7000 is now over 3 years old and has been in use most days. It is beginning to show a few signs of wear and tear as a result (compact cameras aren't generally expected to suffer what this has been through). For some time I have thought about getting a mirrorless compact system camera, and had certainly wondered about the Nikon 1 range.

On a visit to my friendly camera shop in Chiswick I was talking to them about this while in there to get an additional battery for my D800 to take to Yosemite, and also a replacement geared tripod head, as my current one is getting more and more backlash. They told me that they had a second-hand Fuji X-E1 in stock, which I had a look at, and subsequently purchased.

Going through the menus to get them how I like them, and also having read the manual (BEFORE I had a problem) I came across the camera's silent mode, where you can quickly and easily turn off all the beeps and focus assist lights etc. I turn the beeps off anyway and also normally run with the focus assist light off unless I need it (it stops people from guessing you're taking their photo), but nonetheless a handy feature to know about when the theme for today is quiet, you can't get much more quiet than silent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.