Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Memories of Botswana

I've been in all day, resting and working on recovery, so this is a late blip indoors.

I went to Botswana first in 1973, when I was a medical student, for my 3 month elective. It proved to be a very formative experience and I loved most of it. Malcolm McArthur was the surgeon at the Scottish Livingstone Hospital. He and his wife, Gudrun, are long standing friends. They are retired but still travel to and from Botswant to see their large adopted family there.

Malcolm is also an artist and several of his paintings of Botswana grace our walls. This one is laminated so you don't see his full skill.

Incidentally, his father, John, invented a portable microscope which folds up and can be used in the field. It is ingenious. Any technically minded among you can read about it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.