MonoMonday - Big Crow

Okay. I admit it. I chose a black subject for MonoMonday. What can I say? But seriously, there he was, on the deck railing, right outside the kitchen window. I really couldn't resist. So here you have one of our resident crows. I think he is a Northwestern crow. We have two kinds here, American crows and Northwestern crows. I am pretty sure both show up on our deck. The American crows are larger. The Northwestern have harsher voices. I've heard both and seen larger and smaller crows on the deck. I still am not really sure which is which. Here is an article about both kinds.

As you can see I fiddled with this photograph. It was originally in color. I processed it with the Nik detail extractor to bring out the details. Then I ran the Photoshop poster edges filter on it to posterize it a bit. Finally I used the Nik SIlver Efex Pro filter to turn it into black and white. I used the blue filter to increase the detail even more. I was hoping to produce a feeling of either a pen and ink drawing or an etching.

Have a great Monday (or Tuesday) everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.