End of an Era.

My car, our family car - sold......

I'm a bit taken aback at how quickly she was sold, the phone was red hot with a few coming to view last night and then she was all but gone. A fine young lad parting with his well earned cash for his first car. She should serve him well for the time being with no looming expenses that we could foresee.

We had her for 14 years and served us well. Lots of family holidays where the boot, which was huge compared to today's cars, was crammed with bags, stroller, chilly bin etc as we set off with two toddlers in car seats which then grew into two teenage girls and all their much needed essentials for a family get-away. There were school trips, brownie and guide camps with girls giggling and all so excited, all the running around after school with dance and music lessons and then later trips down to the river or the beach and other places to get that much needed blip.

I loved the fact she was a manual rather than auto, never giving up on me on a roundabout like some previous cars we had, her sound system a bit tatty sometimes working and sometimes not and those jolly electric windows also had a mind of their own. There were numerous times I'd be at a car park collecting my ticket for entry and the jolly window wouldn't go down, it was quick get out, grab the ticket and jump back in again - we did get this fixed before we sold her. I could take her anywhere, not sure I'll think the same about the newer car just yet.

So many memories, all good says I with a quiet smile.......End of an era.

Notice where this was taken, quite apt I thought with our future plans in mind.

An early blip, heading into the garden with a cuppa in hand on this warm, 25C, summer's day - there's a light breeze which is rather pleasant.

Have a great Wednesday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.