Journey Through Time

By Sue

Wild

Yes, this is a wild bird. But she happily accepts food from the human community and this one was sitting for a long time at the feeder, surveying her Queendom, for it seems the female rules the roost around here. Or at least tries really hard. I seldom see the males for some reason. Got this through the window with her back to me, but this way, she can keep a sharp eye out for any interlopers and dispatch them quickly with a high speed chase.

Speaking of wild, I am reading "Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail" by Cheryl Strayed. I'm nearly half way through and it is a hard book to put down. I've heard about and seen this book and I finally got it at the library. I highly recommend this book if this looks like something you'd like. If you go to this site and scroll down a bit, you'll see where you can watch a video of Cheryl and it shows images of the trail that she hiked. They are making a movie of this book, which I hope will be faithful to the story and tell it well....and Cheryl lives in Portland, Oregon.

We have had a bit of rain, which is nice. The storms come to us first, usually...little baby storms it seems, almost a fetus, as it is not given a name yet, as the Weather Service likes to do now. It gathers it's strength and is born fully in the Rocky Mountains and then heads out into the plains and heartland of America ready to wreck havoc on unsuspecting city mayors and their cities who ignore the National Weather Service warnings.

Okay, I'm done. See ya later guys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.