Journey Through Time

By Sue

Humming... (and update on detective work)

...along in E-Bayville. Bill was having fun working on the railroad today.

I've been continuing to help my new friends with their family search. This really could be the basis for some kind of book/movie. Their father must have been a real charmer with the ladies, but the kids knew he wasn't much good as I heard twice that the kids of the mothers that he was married to didn't like him much. So, the relationship in Vancouver ended when they found out he was still married to the lady in Arizona. Which landed him in the hoosegow for awhile. Sadly, this woman decided she would give up her year old son for adoption, so the half sibling my friend was hoping to find is going to be much, much harder to uncover. The lady that I talked to, a daughter from this ladies first marriage, was heartbroken when her baby bother was given up. She's wanted to find him all these years. The mother of this child had a boyfriend who killed her in 1966. He confessed and went to prison. My goodness. And I found out that the California family that this man had first, the three boys, had an interesting history. Their mother was the daughter of Russian immigrants who came around 1915 to California. The Ellis Island site isn't working for this family because I think their name got mangled. My friend was looking for his mother Hazel Floorman. She also put her boys out for foster care/adoption. But she returned and took the eldest child and left the other two. Yes, this is sad. But, do you know how many people in the US are named Floorman? Not many. Then I saw the census and it is Foorman. Do you know how many people came through Ellis Island with the name of Foorman? One. And it isn't the one we are looking for. I suspect that it's spelled some other way....Furman, Forman, Fuhrman....and on and on and on. And it just doesn't sound very Russian to me, so they may be Germans or some other nationality, who were in Russia for a couple of generations and then left when they saw the writing on the wall in pre revolutionary Russia. I suggested that he might be a good candidate for DNA testing which would help him figure out what part of the world his mother came from.

Confused? California family, Arizona family and Washington family. Maybe there are more out there.

Fun, fun, fun.

Okay...see ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.