Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sunshine and Séamus

Ken was today's music session host. He uncorked some wine afterwards, which Séamus wasn't the only one to enjoy. I did like the way the sunlight was falling on the couch, so blipped it.

I had to slip away after half a glass and rive to Kildalkey, near Trim in Co. Meath. I'd been trying to meet up with a long-term friend for quite a while (we reckon it's five years since we've met), and things almost happened in town last Saturday until he cancelled and suggested instead that I go down to his place and stay overnight. I readily agreed, and today was the day. Dave's partner strongly suggested that I leave Dublin before my originally intended time of 6pm, since part of the journey would involve driving on an unfamiliar stretch of narrow, winding road, best tackled in daylight. She was right.

I last met Dave before his two children were born, and now I found that another is due in March. Jack and Ava are lovely kids, and we all spent some quality time together over a meal and a chinwag before we two headed off for some serious drinking. Dave drove to Trim and left his car there overnight. We spent several enjoyable hours in Griffin's pub, where we bumped into three guys who shared a table with us at the end of the night. We got talking, and they were quite happy to have their photo taken. The result almost became today's blip until I realised I went to upload it that it was time-stamped 1:21 am tomorrow.

We got a taxi back to Dave's place and tried our best not to waken the rest of the house as we solved several pressing world problems over a few more beers. I'm somewhat shocked to see that I sent a text message at 5:20 am, having just snuggled down in the guest bedroom. A terrific time, and great to see Dave and his lovely family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.