Chinese family

Now, there will forever be part of my family that is Chinese. Across continents two dynasties are joined - well, two families. The Old Quad was very busy tonight, no rain and no wind so a good evening for seeing the Chinese warriors. I come late on in a line of blippers. There were plenty of cameras there tonight, making it difficult to get a clear shot. I know at least one belonged to a blipper.

Earlier it had been a slow start to the day. I had an appointment at the prodding place on Lauriston Place and had to wait 35 minutes to be seen. Then I decided I did not want to be prodded any more so I was out within 10 minutes. Literally a waste of time.

I am in Edinburgh all week, apart from a brief side trip to Glasgow on Thursday so I felt I was really getting caught up with things. A good day. And I made it the time I spent this morning by staying late, so I could go and see the warriors. #1 son has seen the originals in situ. I saw them when they came to the City Art Centre a good few years ago. I spoke to a couple of Chinese students who were supplying info about China and hot drinks - it was cold. they are both Law students, with impeccable English. The University of Edinburgh has a great many Chinese students. At times you begin to think all its students are Chinese. I now have a leaflet about the Confucius Institute and wonder about learning some Mandarin. I'm going to have a bilingual grandchild. It would be good to be able to have some Chinese.

Now at home. we've finished off last night's fish pie and I'm thinking about a swim. That decision will have to be made in the next 15 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.