LEARNING ALL THE TIME!

I was in school again today and had the privilege of hearing several of the children read. For some of these children, English is not their first language, so I was very impressed with their reading skills after such a short time of being at school. I'm sure I wouldn't be so fluent in their languages if I were to go and live in their countries!

I was hoping to go out and get a blip whilst walking, but when I finished school, it was so windy and rainy that I went to get the car from where Mr. HCB helps at lunch club, and then I will go back and collect him a little later.

Took this photograph in school and learnt quite a lot about Henri Matisse, a French artist, known for his use of colour and his fluid and original draughtsmanship. When I looked him up on Google, I also discovered that Matisse created large scale cut paper collages and he called the technique ‘painting with scissors’ - interesting thought.

I don't remember learning about things like this when I was at Primary School - I guess more emphasis was placed on the 3 "Rs" - children are so fortunate these days - and particularly at the school where I am a volunteer. I know they appreciate all that I do, and it is so good to be part of a caring community - their motto is "Optima Sequi - Pursue the Best" and they certainly do that!

Creative people are curious, flexible,
persistent and independent
with a tremendous spirit of adventure
and a love of play.
Henri Matisse


Thank you for your kind comments on my double rainbows yesterday - I am still not commenting much - but enjoying looking at your blips and leaving stars and hearts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.