Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A break in the sun

I took Mum to Newcastle today to see the Dame Laura Knight exhibition in the Laing art gallery. It's a wonderful exhibition, showing a range of her work, but only 2 rooms so not too much to take in. I thought that some of her portraits were exquisite. I was also fascinated to read two pages from her diary written during the Nuremburg Trials. She was there as a war artist to record the events.

It was a lovely sunny day. Outside the Laing is an open area with a few seats. This young woman was enjoying a cigarette (or three) and reading an ebook. I liked the backlighting and hoped to catch the moment when she exhaled smoke. I always planned for this to be in mono.

I have had good news today. Firstly, the samples analysed last week were clear of infection. Secondly, I had requested a test of thyroid function. I'm already on thyroxine, but the giardia can cause hypothyroidism. The results show that I need more thyroxine - so I reckon the only way now is up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.