Rest time....

My day started with a walk to the gym at 6.30am. The street lights were still on and the air was damp, the sky was deciding whether rain should fall or not, thankfully not. After my workout I walked home again with a light 10min jog near the end - I thought that was my exercise done for the day, but not so.

Mum and I met up with Daughter E in the city. We lunched at 'The Cup' - the café, wine bar with a view which was simply breathtaking, found in Cashmere on the hill. Our meals were divine, just the right amount and not skimpy on any ingredients - worth a visit if in the area.

After lunch Daughter E suggested a stroll in Victoria Park, both mum and I were quite keen.

Victoria Park is situated on the ridges and valleys descending from sugarloaf and has panoramic views of Christchurch, the Canterbury Plains, Pegasus Bay and the Southern Alps - depending on the track taken. Victoria Park was first set aside as a reserve in 1870 and planting began in the early 1880's under the direction of J.B. Armstrong. The first house was erected in 1886 and an early occupant, William Moore, was the first to sell refreshments to visitors. Hon. William Rolleston formally opened the park in 1897 to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria.

So under the heat of the sun we picked a track which took us west, mostly through native planting so we could hear the bird song of the grey warbler, fantails, bellbird and silver eyes. The track went up and down sometimes in shade which was rather pleasant while other times were quite exposed on the ridges but such a lovely view, shame the Southern Alps were not visible today.

We were away for a good length of time with just a little cardio towards the end which had both mum and I puffing a bit but Daughter E quietly edged us on, she's so patient.

Here are two happy walkers, keen to do it all over again, perhaps next time we'll head east so we can see the sea.

What a great day we've had. I'll leave you with a happy snap of my mum and Daughter E.

Happy Wednesday everyone :)

Edit: It was good to have a break from the garden today and the computer last night, my eyes have been much better today. Thank you for all your kind words, I hope to be back to commenting later tonight unless of course I fall asleep after all the walking I did today :)

7pm: It's now pouring with rain, can hardly hear myself speak and its very dark. Can't remember the last time it rained like this, it certainly wasn't summer. We've had some strong power surges with the lights nearly going completely off. Summer rain has opened the pores of the plants leaving the garden glistening and fresh in the dull light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.