The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Wet Wisley!!!

Feeling better, I decided to stick with my original plans and Visit Wisley gardens in Surrey to photograph some of the exotic butterflies in the glasshouse.
Every year between January and March Wisley gardens allow exotic butterflies (which they receive as pupae) fly freely in their large glasshouse. It is well worth a visit, especially as by this time I usually haven't seen a live butterfly for months and I am suffering from withdrawal symptoms!
This year they have limited entry tickets (which you need to purchase on line) so there aren't too many people in the glasshouse at any one time, which really helped. As it was there were quite a few people there, chasing the restless loping butterflies about, saying how fast they were - which made me laugh as I am used to chasing very fast wild British butterflies, and compared to Silver spotted skippers these are very slow and huge!!
Almost everyone was taking pictures, from those with mobile phones to 'All the gear with no idea' types!!
Despite all this, I had a great time and Robyn and I got some decent shots.
Today's blip is a face to face shot with a wood nymph butterfly, which climbed on my finger for a second, I like his smart black and white attire.
Walking back from the glasshouse to the car we got absolutely soaked through! and the journey home was horrendous! I hear this storm tonight may be the last for a while....I really hope so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.