Seaside Shenanigans!

Rory and I spent a lovely (and not too cold) day exploring Montrose and the beach nearby! I love being by the seaside, there is something so peaceful about walking along the beach.

Montrose was a little bit of a disappointment as it seems to be much like my home town in that it seems to shut down entirely on a Sunday! So after a little bit of exploration and a little bit of car worry, Rory drove us (unknowingly to me) to one of the most beautiful beaches in Britain. For being a Sunday, it wasn't that busy!

We ate our little picnic as we walked along the beach whilst we both hunted for pretty looking rocks and whilst I was snapping away on my camera. There was people attempting to surf unsuccessfully, a couple flying kites, ample dog walkers and lots of young families around. When we reached one end of the beach, there was a barrel and a tyre floating in a little inlet of water, which kids obviously played with, but we couldn't resist a muck about!

The other end of the beach, which by the time we reached I was beginning to lose the feeling in my fingers, had a little derelict castle as a view. It was absolutely beautiful and would have been a much better sight in its glory days! We headed back to the car and headed to Arbroath beach on our way back to Dundee.

Arbroath is one of my favourite little places! It has a wonderful beach, with lots of interesting stones and it has the most beautiful houses. Rory and I were a little shocked that people leave their doors open, even people in the Borders don't leave their doors wide open! We were met on the beach by some angry looking swans and as I am scared of birds, we didn't stay for very long. We did however get to throw some golf balls into the sea and spent a good long while trying to find and catch them again (simple things please simple minds).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.