I fought the HelpDesk... And I won...

I managed to out fix the IT fixers at work today.

One of the main applications I use to do my day to day work decided on Monday that it had had enought, coughed, spluttered and the just spat out a load of hexidecimal memory addresses and refused to open.

IT department stock answer to the problem. Rebuild the PC. No joy. A few personlised setting removed from the computer, nae bother.

I found it didn't matter which PC I logged into, same problem! IT answer. Reset my network profile. No Joy. Every setting I'd ever used on the machine/network and entire company, wiped. Ach well, start clean slate.

I feel quite virtuous in that I managed to steal a folder from some who's was working, paste it into my machine, re-install the application over the top of it and hey presto. Productivity returns.

Just need to go back and set everything back the way I like it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other unrelated news. I just realized 2 rather neat things today.

1) My website has a wee blether blog type thing I forgot about which documents the dates of some of the pictures I've got on there. I could ArchiveBlip some stuff from my pre-digital days.
2) The new version of GoogleMaps on my phone seems less reliant on internet connection and seems to fetch GPS coordinates an awful lot more efficiently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.