Nor'West Night Sky over Akaroa Harbour

It's absolutely cooking out there; as I write this in the small hours it is over 25 degrees Celsius outside and we've just had a heat shower with a few gusts of strong, warm winds. It's uncomfortable to say the least.

This shot was taken a few hours ago from the Summit Road on the way to Pigeon Bay. What you can't see here is just how windy it is; I was holding down all my weight on my carbon fibre tripod to help stabilise it.

Time to try and attempt some sleep in the heat. Maybe more star shots might call... but it looks like I'll need to wait til tomorrow for an aurora at the earliest. Watch this space.

Talking of which, don't forget I'm holding a night sky blipmeet next Friday night out here on Banks Peninsula. Send me a message (address on my profile page) if you want to come along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.