First Night in Bangkok

Back in Bangkok again after ten years. Fantastic!
The flight wasn't too bad. I watched Gravity which I thought was ace (although I did make a show of myself and start bawling uncontrollably when she was talking about her daughter!)
I had a spare seat next to me which is always nice and the food was scrummy - a Taiwanese pork and rice thing.
I managed to get a bit of sleep and then watched Notting Hill (sobbing again at the bit where she says she's just a girl standing in front of a boy!!)
Then I was here!!
Miss T's flight landed half an hour before mine and we hadn't really made a plan where to meet! But all was well and she just looked a bit dodgy hanging around the Immigration desks!!
So good to see her!
We got through Immigration and Customs - always heart stopping for me in Thailand. I'm paranoid that someone will plant something on me and I'll spend the next twenty years in a Thai prison...... But obviously all was well!
Then we jumped in a taxi to our hotel. The driver seemed a bit vague as to the whereabouts of our hotel and the traffic was atrocious! It made for a bit of a stressful journey! But two hours later we were here. The Ananatara Riverside which is one of my favourite hotels in the world!
The smell of the lobby, the flowers everywhere, the artefacts dotted around, the pool, the pool, the pool!!! I just love it!
The woman on the check-in desk handed us our cold towels (always the sign of a good establishment!) and said she could upgrade us to a Junior Suite but the view wasn't was nice as the original room. She kindly let us see both and although the suite was massive and lovely we went for the original river view. We have a balcony and an amazing view up and down the river.
I love the lights, the barges going up and down, the river taxis, the hotel's shuttle boats. Perfect!
As soon as we'd dumped our stuff we headed back down to the restaurant on the terrace by the river. Chicken and cashew nuts, pad thai, and a couple of cocktails. Yummy!
We were a bit deliriously knackered by now! I can't remember the last time I was so tired!
It was a monumental effort but we got back to the room, got changed and collapsed into the huge comfy beds.
It's good to be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.