Lake Mead National Recreation Area

Today is Arvin's and my 24th wedding anniversary. That isn't how long we've been together. We lived together almost 12 years before we finally got married... it's a long story. We both feel so very lucky to have found each other. Even though there are 14 years between us, we have never felt an age gap. He is youthful and fit. I am my actual age, though perhaps at the top of the energy scale. ;-) Now we do notice a bit of a difference. For example, Steve, Helena and I went clambering over the hills in the Lake Mead National Recreation Area. Arvin came part way with us and then headed back closer to the car. That didn't used to happen. But he still can go many places that most 85 year olds can't. And he is game and open to exploring. He is an amazingly young 85.

Helena gamely came along with Steve and me who are two of the three sibling desert rats in our family. We all love to climb over the hills and explore the next gully. Today Steve, Helena and I went to one of our favorite areas where there are all kinds of interesting rocks and lots of petrified wood. We took a bit less demanding route and walked up over a large hill, down its spine and into a jumble of black volcanic looking rocks against bright orange hills. I know we walked several miles and it wasn't easy territory. We told Helena, who was here for the first time, that she had earned her "Desert Rat Initiation Badge." She said that she no longer had any fur on her tail and was definitely feeling like a rat. :) This was while we all consumed the lunch we packed and slurped down water as we were very thirsty.

On the way home we made another quick exploring stop and then headed in. I think it must have been close to 80F today so I was getting very hot. Coming home for a quiet moment and posting my blip seemed a brilliant idea.

Arvin and Helena are napping and Steve is doing his crossword puzzles. After our rest we are going over to the kids' to play with Bailey and Madden and have dinner with Jennifer and Emmett. E gets home late tonight so it will be a late dinner. Good fun. Again I doubt I'll be doing much commenting today. Thanks to all of you who still stop by for a peek at my journal. BTW, I just signed up as a lifetime member. Now I know I'll have to keep blipping to get my money's worth. Ha ha.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.